Jump to content
Main Page
General Information Exhibits Education IMAX Fun Lab
General Information
Planning your visit to the science centerPlanning your visit to the science center
News and eventsNews and events
Members, donors and supportersMembers, donors and supporters
Event ServicesEvent Services
Employment and VolunteeringEmployment and Volunteering
Media roomMedia room
Press ReleasesPress Releases
About usAbout us
Contact usContact us
Copywrite 2001-2004, California Science Center
Media Contact: Shell Amega, Paula Wagner or Isela Castillo
Media Contact: (213) 744-7446
May 26, 2004
Winners of 2004 California State Science Fair Announced
Two-Day Event Concludes with Awards Ceremony at the California Science Center

LOS ANGELES - Winners of the 2004 California State Science Fair were announced among a cheering audience of students, parents and teachers during an awards ceremony held May 25, 2004 at the Sports Arena, hosted by the California Science Center. The fair drew 924 students from counties statewide, with finalists selected by a volunteer pool of over 300 scientists and engineers from private industry and higher education. The California Science Fair takes place as a result of the generous support of THE MUSES and Raytheon. A total of $70,000 in cash prizes is distributed to the Science Fair Winners.

Top Awards

Phillip Deutsch, a 12th grade student at La Canada High School in La Canada (Los Angeles County) was selected for the Dr. & Mrs. Arnold O. Beckman Project of the Year—Senior Division and received a $10,000 cash prize. His project was titled “A New 'Spin' on the Hassnoot-Altona Equation: Determination of Theta by Variable Solvent and Variable Temperature NRM".
Sarah E. Whipple, an 8th grade student from Sacred Heart School in Palm Desert (Riverside County) was chosen for the Dr. & Mrs. Arnold O. Beckman Project of the Year—Junior Division award and received a $5,000 cash prize. Her project was titled “Magnus Force on Spinning Spheres.” Two special committees, one for each division, reviewed every first place, winning project in each subject category in order to select the best project in each division.

Vanessa C. Cox, a senior at Pleasant Valley Senior High School in Chico (Butte), was named California State Science Fair Student of the Year and was presented with a $1,000 cash prize. Her project entry was titled "A Three-Year Study of Natural Antibiotics: Analysis of the Bioactive Compound in Arctostaphylus in Various Solvents.” This award is presented to the high school senior who, in the opinion of the judges, best exemplifies the qualities necessary for success in science.

California State Science Fair Results

Roxanne Hunker, a teacher at The Rhoades School in San Diego (San Diego County) was named California State Science Fair Teacher of the Year—Junior Division and Graham Robertson, a teacher at Palos Verdes High School in Palos Verdes (Los Angeles County) was named California State Science Fair Teacher of the Year—Senior Division. Each received a $2,000 cash prize.

Jeffrey N. Rudolph, executive director, California Science Center, commented, “The fair helps students learn that they can be scientists and that it can be fun and satisfying to exercise their creativity, intellect and curiosity.” The Science Center’s involvement with the annual event dates back more than 40 years and is part of its mission to stimulate and nurture public interest in science, math and technology.

Special Recognition Awards

  • John D. Isaacs Scholarship, a $12,000 scholarship in marine science was given to Aaron S. Goldin (San Diego County)
  • ZACA Award for Practical Application in Science, a $5,000 award presented to the senior level project, which best considers and explains its practical application was given to Annick-Marie S. Jordan (Los Angeles County).
  • Silicon Boule Award, representative of today’s high technology, uniquely acknowledges distinctive performance in the physical sciences. The award is the recipient’s choice of either a laptop computer or a silicon boule. The Senior Engineer Scientist winner is Aaron S. Goldin (San Diego). The Junior Engineer Physicist winner is Zachary R. Schmidt (Santa Cruz).

Information on other Special Recognition Awards as well as the complete list of subject category award winners can be viewed at www.californiasciencecenter.org/CSSF/. Reporters may also call the Science Center's Communications Department at (213) 744-7446 for winners from their area.

Editor's Note: California Science Center is located at 700 State Drive, Exposition Park, Los Angeles, CA 90037. Open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. Admission to the exhibits is free. IMAX Theater tickets range from $4.25 to $7.00. Both the Science Center and IMAX Theater are wheelchair accessible. Visitors can enter the parking lot at 39th and Figueroa Street. Parking is $6. For general information, phone (323) SCIENCE or visit our website at www.californiasciencecenter.org.

General InformationExhibitsEducationIMAXFun Lab